Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Div. Fusion and Reactor Technology

Head:
Prof. Dr. R. Stieglitz
robert stieglitz2Uda3∂kit edu

Address:
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Institute for Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology (INR)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Secretariat:
Phone.: +49 721 608 22551
FAX: +49 721 608 23718
IL-SekretariatMuc9∂inr kit edu

Division Fusion and Reactor Technology

Profile:

The design and analysis of thermally stressed facilities and components are the focus of research and development work in this area. Fusion power plants related facilities, as well as accelerator-driven basic research facilities, pose very special challenges for engineering to ensure their safe operation throughout their lifecycle, even for the widest range of regular and irregular events. For this, are expertise of the

  • Thermalhydraulics and thermomechanics,
  • Diagnostics and development of high-resolution measuring methods,
  • System dynamics and the
  • Neutron physics and core data

essential. Often, the issues to be addressed require a coupling of different subject areas, so that the development of reliable predictive tools that are able to handle these multi-scale problems, play an increasingly important role. This work requires appropriate experimental validation and quantification of the uncertainties.

All of these topics are addressed in research and teaching. The corresponding student and academic work is carried out in cooperation with the Institute for Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology (INR) and other institutes of Campus North.

The available courses offer all aspects of the understanding of fusion and reactor technology and provide the necessary knowledge. In addition, to the institutes’ own lectures, subject-specific fusion lectures are also offered by lecturers from different engineering fields. Current trends and developments are discussed in seminars by renowned lecturers from KIT, scientists from other universities and research institutions, as well as the industry. In addition, special lectures on solar thermal energy and alternative energy technologies are offered too.

The qualifications, methods and experiences acquired and imparted in research and teaching, qualify graduates from bachelor to doctor to be successful in many areas of energy technology, so that there exist many contacts with industrial partners and research institutions.

 

NEWS

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Bereich Fusions- und Reaktortechnik

Leiter:
Prof. Dr. R. Stieglitz
robert stieglitz2Ont4∂kit edu

Postanschrift:
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Institut für Neutronenphysik und Reaktortechnik (INR)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Sekretariat:
Tel.: +49 721 608 22551
FAX: +49 721 608 23718
IL-SekretariatGlh3∂inr kit edu

Bereich Fusions- und Reaktortechnik

Profil:

Das Design und die Analyse thermisch hochbelasteter Anlagen und Komponenten stehen im Fokus der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten dieses Bereichs. Hierbei stellen die kerntechnische Anlagen für die Kernfusion wie auch Beschleuniger getriebene Anlagen für die Grundlagenforschung ganz besondere Herausforderungen an die Ingenieurwissenschaften, um einen sicheren Betrieb während der gesamten Lebensdauer auch bei unterschiedlichsten regulären wie irregulären Ereignissen zu gewährleisten. Hierfür sind Expertisen der

  • Thermohydraulik und Thermomechanik,
  • Diagnostik und Entwicklung hochauflösender Messverfahren
  • Systemdynamik und der
  • Neutronenphysik und Kerndaten

unabdingbar. Oftmals erfordern die zu bearbeitenden Fragestellungen eine Kopplung unterschiedlicher Themengebiete, so dass die Entwicklung zuverlässiger prädiktiver Werkzeuge, die in der Lage sind, diese mehrskaligen Probleme zu bearbeiten, eine immer größere Rolle spielen. Diese Arbeiten erfordern eine entsprechende experimentelle Validierung und Quantifizierung der Unsicherheiten.

All diesen Themenkreisen widmet sich dieser Bereich in Forschung und Lehre. Die entsprechenden studentischen und akademischen Arbeiten erfolgen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Neutronenphysik Reaktortechnik (INR) und anderer Institute des Campus Nord.

Das Lehrangebot beinhaltet alle Aspekte zum Verständnis der Fusions- und Reaktortechnik und vermittelt die hierfür erforderlichen Kenntnisse. Neben den institutseigenen Vorlesungen werden auch fachspezifische Fusionsvorlesungen von Lehrbeauftragten aus unterschiedlichen Ingenieurgebieten angeboten. Aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen werden in Seminaren von renommierten Vortragenden aus dem KIT, Wissenschaftler anderer Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen sowie der Industrie erörtert. Darüber hinaus werden Fachvorlesungen zu thermischer Solarenergie und alternativen Energietechniken angeboten.

Die in Forschung und Lehre erworbenen und vermittelten Qualifikationen, Methoden und Erfahrungen qualifizieren Absolventen vom Bachelor bis zum Doktor in vielen Bereichen der Energietechnik erfolgreich tätig zu sein, so dass viele Kontakte zu industriellen Partnern wie Forschungseinrichtungen bestehen.

 

 

NEWS